<<  BACK TO INDEX

Hosting Control Panel User Guide


 

Starting with Your Account


This document covers the following topics:

 

Your Temporary Index Page

Right after your account is approved and set up, a directory for your site is created on the server. This directory contains a temporary index page that is accessible from the internet and allows you to:

  • administer your user account. Enter your control panel login and password into "Login to your Control Panel". This login and password are e-mailed to you at the address you specified at signup. Use the Control Panel to change/update your contact information, change passwords, get more resources, check your account usage, and much more.
  • create a web site in a matter of minutes right from your browser. Use the option "Launch Site Builder". Initially, the password to log into the site builder is the same as that for the control panel.

 

Uploading Your Site

Whenever possible, upload your site using the utilities that come with your web-site development software. For instance, if you made your site with SiteStudio, FrontPage or Dreamweaver, use their integrated web publishing tools. If you made your site with simple text editors, or if your site-building software does not have a publishing utility, use freestanding FTP clients, such as CuteFTP, SmartFTP, or the built-in web-based FTP agent.

Please note that site publishing tools don't remove your old web content from the server. For instance, if you used SiteStudio to upload a site with 15 pages and later you published an updated 7 page version of this site, your directory on the server will have all the new pages and the old pages that haven't been overwritten. If you publish many versions of the website, the site may become cluttered with old files. Warning: If you have a complete website, be careful not to overwrite it with a publish command.

Don't upload your site to the root of your user directory! Instead, put it to the document root directory of your account. See below for more information.

 

Contents of Your Home Directory

Your home directory contains several default subdirectories. Their number and names will differ depending on your plan, yet some of them are common for all plans. Here are some of the directories that are automatically created and may not be deleted:

  • Directories that contain your domain names. Each of your sites is put in a separate directory. The name of the directory is the same as your site's domain name. If you have more than one site, you will have several such directories. These are the directories where you will upload your .html files or any other files that you want to make accessible from the Internet. Each of these directories may contain their own /webalizer directories. Do not delete either of these directories! Your site is too valuable to lose at a touch of a button.
  • The Logs directory. It contains directories for every site with transfer log enabled. Each such directory contains its own set of log files that are required to write and read the data about all visits to your sites. Deleting the Logs directory will cause the loss of the web statistics accumulated in the course of your site operation. Click here for more on web statistics. 
  • The Virtual FTP directory. Its name is the dedicated IP address. This directory is created when you enable Virtual FTP Server and can be accessed by virtual FTP users to list and download its content. There are as many such directories as dedicated IP addresses. Deleting Virtual FTP directories will cause incorrect operation of Virtual FTP. However, you may harmlessly delete individual files in these directories. Click here for more on Virtual FTP. 
  • The subdomain directories. When you make a subdomain, a new directory is created with the subdomain name as the directory name. If you delete a subdomain directory, internet visitors will get the 404 "File not found" error when attempting to access the subdomain. Click here to read on how to create subdomains.
  • The ssl.conf directory. This directory stores SSL pairs for all encrypted sites. Deleting the ssl.conf directory will result in incorrect SSL operation.

Warning: Don't delete ANY default directories in your root directory, as this will cause malfunctions of your account. As a rule of thumb, you may delete only directories and files you have uploaded yourselves or that have been uploaded by any of your Virtual FTP and Anonymous FTP users.

      

 

    

 

Virtual Hosting Plans :: Webhosting Features :: Shared Hosting Support/Help :: Webhosting Documentations :: SiteMap
Control Panel :: Terms of Services :: Privacy Statement :: Disclaimer :: Contact Us

 
Copyright 2014 Active-Venture.com Webhosting Service
All Rights Reserved